Schedule


CS 315 Computer Architecture

Fall 2016

Lecture: LS 307 TR 9:55am-11:40am
Lab: LS 307 W 2:35pm-4:00pm


Office Hours

Instructor: Greg Benson: Harney 533, TR 1:10pm-2:00pm, W 11:10am-12:00pm
Teaching Assistant: Mayank Thirani: Harney 535, MTF 3pm-5pm


Week 17

Thu Dec 15
  • Final: 10am-12pm LS 307
Week 16

Thu Dec 8
  • Project04 Interactive Grading: 2pm-4pm LS 307
Wed Dec 7
  • Project04 Interactive Grading: 2:30pm-5:00pm LS 307

Tue Dec 6
  • Pipelining, Cache Memory, the Final, and Class Wrap-up.

Week 15

Thu Dec 1
  • Quiz 9: DDCA 7.3, 7.7 (Cancelled)
  • Pipelining
Wed Nov 30
  • Work on ARM CPU
Tue Nov 29
  • Work on ARM CPU

Week 14

Thu Nov 24
  • Thanksgiving Day: No Class
Wed Nov 23
  • Lab: 2:00pm-4:00pm Office hours
Tue Nov 22
  • CPU Design: more control, debugging techniques
  • Reading: DDCA 7.5, 7.7

Week 13

Thu Nov 17
  • Quiz 8: DDCA 7.1-7.3
Wed Nov 16
  • CPU Design

Tue Nov 15
  • CPU Design

Week 12

Thu Nov 10
  • Quiz 7: DDCA 5.1, 5.2, 5.4
  • Reading: DDCA 7.1-7.3
  • Review of sequential logic and designing a counter
  • ALU design
  • Logisim Libraries
  • Simulation
Wed Nov 9
  • No Lab
Tue Nov 8
  • Building a counter

Week 11

Thu Nov 3
  • Quiz 6: DDCA 2.4-2.6, 2.8, 3.1-3.2
  • Digital logic building blocks
  • Sequential Logic
  • Reading: DDCA 5.1, 5.2, 5.4
Wed Nov 2
  • Lab: Project03 Interactive Grading
Tue Nov 1
  • More combinational logic

Week 10

Thu Oct 27
  • Quiz 5: DDCA Chapter 1: 1.5-1.6, Chapter 2: 2.1-2.2
  • Combinational logic
  • Sum of products
  • Reading: DDCA 2.4-2.6, 2.8, 3.1-3.2
Wed Oct 26
  • Lab: Project03 questions, Install Logisim
Tue Oct 25
  • Project03 discussion
  • Introduction to digital design and digital logic

Week 09

Thu Oct 20
  • Project03 requirements and design issues
  • Reading: DDCA Chapter 1: 1.5-1.6 (1.7 optional) Chapter 2: 2.1-2.2
Wed Oct 19
  • Lab: Inspecting ARM machine code in C.
    • Bring RPis
Tue Oct 18
  • Fall Break - No Class

Week 08

Thu Oct 13
  • Midterm
    • Past midterm CS 315 2011S (PDF)
Wed Oct 12
  • Lab: Project02 Interactive Grading
Tue Oct 11
  • Machine Language and Interpreting Machine Code

Week 07

Thu Oct 6
  • Quiz 4: DDCA Chpater 6: 6.4-6.5 Machine Language
  • Questions on Project02
  • Recursion - factorial in ARM assembly
  • Machine Language 
Wed Oct 7
  • Lab: No lab section this week
Tue Oct 5
  • Function calls: working with C arrays

Week 06

Thu Sep 29
  • ARM Assembly: function calls
  • Reading: DDCA Chapter 6: 6.4-6.5
Wed Sep 28
  • Lab: ARM Assembly: function calls
Tue Sep 27
  • ARM Assembly: control flow and memory access

Week 05

Thu Sep 22
  • Quiz 3: DDCA Chapter 6: 6.1-6.3 ARM Assembly
Wed Sep 21
  • Lab: RPi ssh setup and assembly on RPi
Tue Sep 20
  • ARM Assembly (See Chapter 6 Slides: PDF)

Week 04

Thu Sep 15
  • ARM Assembly 
Wed Sep 14
  • Project01 Interactive Grading
Tue Sep 13
  • Project01 due at 11:59pm.

Week 03

Thu Sep 8
  • Number conversion algorithms in C
Wed Sep 7
  • C Programming and Project01
Tue Sep 6
  • Quiz 2: DDCA Chapter 1: 1.1-1.4, More C Programming
  • Reading DDCA Chapter 6: 6.1-6.3 ARM Assembly

Week 02

Thu Sep 1
  • More Number representation
  • C Programming
Wed Aug 31
  • Lab: Raspberry Pi 3 setup
  • Reading: DDCA Chapter 1: 1.1-1.4
Tue Aug 30
  • Quiz 1: The C Programming Language

Week 01

Thu Aug 25
  • Number representation
Wed Aug 24
  • Raspberry Pi 3 Ordering
  • C Programming
Tue Aug 22

Ċ
Greg Benson,
Sep 20, 2016, 9:56 AM
Ċ
Greg Benson,
Oct 6, 2016, 10:07 AM