Schedule

CS 315 Computer Architecture - Fall 2019

Section 01 Lecture: LS 307 TR 9:55am-11:40am
Section 01 Lab: LS G12 W 4:45pm-6:20pm
Section 01 Final: Thursday, December 12, 2019 10:00am-12:00pm

Section 02 Lecture: LS 307 TR 2:40am-4:25pm
Section 02 Lab: LS 307 W 6:30pm-8:15pm
Section 02 Final: Thursday, December 12, 2019 3:00pm-5:00pm


Office Hours

 Instructor Greg Benson Harney 412A TR 1:10pm-2:00pm, W 3:10pm-4:00pm
 TA Jeremy Li Harney 411/413 M 3:00pm-5:00pm, F 3:15pm-5:15pm
 TA Alex Wang Harney 411/413 TR 4:40pm-5:40pm, F 1:15pm-3:15pm
 TA Domingo Huang Harney 411/413 M 5:00pm-6:00pm, W 12:00pm-2:00pm


Week 13

Thu Nov 12 (Lec)
  • Introduction to Processor Design
Wed Nov 11 (Lab)
  • Last minute help with Project05
Tue Nov 10 (Lec)
  • Review of Project05 concepts
  • Help with Project05

Week 12

Thu Nov 7 (Lec)
  • Sequential Logic
  • Building a Counter
  • Multiplexors
  • ROM
  • Graphics RAM
Wed Nov 6 (Lab)
  • Sequential Logic
  • SR Latch
  • The Clock
  • D Latch
  • D Flip-Flop
  • 4-bit Register
Tue Nov 5 (Lec)
  • Full Adder
  • 4-Bit Ripple Carry Adder
Week11

Thu Oct 31 (Lec)
  • Introduction to Digital Design
  • Basic Gates
  • Combinational Logic
  • Digital for building circuits
  • Sum-of-Products
  • Half Adder

Wed Oct 30 (Lab)
  • Project04 Interactive Grading
Tue Oct 29 (Lec)
  • Project04 help
  • Project04 due

Week10

Thu Oct 24 (Lec)
  • Cache Memory Continued
  • Project04 help
Wed Oct 23 (Lab)
  • Project04 development and help
Tue Oct 22 (Lec)
  • Instruction emulation
  • Dynamic analysis
  • Cache Memory
  • Code organization
Week09

Thu Oct 17 (Lec)
  • ARMemu
Wed Oct 16 (Lab)
  • Midterm Review
  • Project04 Overview
Tue Oct 15 (Lec)
  • Fall Break

Week08

Thu Oct 10 (Lec)
Wed Oct 9 (Lab)
  • Midterm review
Tue Oct 8 (Lec)
  • Interactive Grading for Project03 (all day)
Week07

Thu Oct 3 (Lec)
  • Quiz2
  • Project03 test requirements and output
  • Strings, printf
  • Large constants
  • Alternate forms of ldr/str
Wed Oct 2 (Lab)
  • Quiz 2 review
  • Project03 help
Tue Oct 1 (Lec)
  • ARM Assembly
  • Calling functions
  • Recursion
Week06

Thu Sep 26 (Lec)
  • ARM Assembly
  • arrays
  • function calls
Wed Sep 25 (Lab)
  • gdb, make
Tue Sep 24 (Lec)
  • ARM Assembly
  • if/then/else
  • loops

Week05

Thu Sep 19 2019 (Lec)
  • ARM Assembly
  • Project03
Wed Sep 18 2019 (Lab)
  • Project02 interactive grading from 1pm to 9pm.
Tue Sep 17 2019 (Lec)
  • Project02 checklist
  • unsigned to unsigned string
  • ARM Assembly
  • Check in and feedback on Project02

Week04

Thu Sep 12 2019 (Lec)
  • Introduction to ARM Assembly Language

Wed Sep 11 2019 (Lab)
  • More help with Project02

Tue Sep 10 2019 (Lec)
  • Unix executables and the PATH
  • Command line arguments
  • How to structure the nt implementation
  • Stubbing out the steps
  • The nt_info struct

Week03

Thu Sep 5 2019 (Lec)
  • Quiz 1
  • Quiz 1 discussion
  • Project02 overview

Wed Sep 4 2019 (Lab)
  • Finalize Raspberry Pi setups
  • char_to_binstr()

Tue Sep 3 2019 (Lec)
  • ssh keys
  • git and GitHub

Week02

Thu Aug 29 2019 (Lec)
  • Number representation
  • C ints, strings, and bit manipulation
Wed Aug 28 2019 (Lab)
  • Raspberry Pi Setup
Tue Aug 27 2019 (Lec)
  • Raspberry Pi Setup

Week01

Thu Aug 22 2019 (Lec)
  • More C Programming
  • Command line arguments
  • Number representation
  • 2's Complement
Wed Aug 21 2019 (Lab)
  • Raspberry Pi Hardware overview
  • Introduction to C Programming
Tue Aug 20 2019 (Lec)

Ċ
Greg Benson,
Oct 3, 2019, 9:47 AM
Ċ
Greg Benson,
Oct 3, 2019, 9:46 AM